HomeNewsMessage BoardIndustrySupportAbout Us

Local News
Saint Louis News
Kansas City News
Areas Beyond News
National News
News Archive
N.A.B Crystal Radio Award finalists

March 28, 2003

The National Association of Broadcasters has named the 10 winners of the NAB Crystal Radio Award competition. Established in 1987, the NAB Crystal Radio Award recognizes radio stations' efforts to improve the quality of life in their surrounding communities. Selected from a pool of 40 finalists, the following 10 stations were given the award today:

KPRS 103.3 and KFME 105.1 we both Kansas City winners, the other 8 stations were:
KOIT San Francisco, CA
KOZT Fort Bragg, CA
KVAK-AM Valdez, AK
WGMS Washington, DC
WIBC Indianapolis, IN
WJJY Brainerd, MN
WUGO Grayson, KY

"The community service showcased by this year's winners has been truly exemplary," said NAB President and CEO Edward O. Fritts. "This is what broadcasting is all about and NAB congratulates these 10 stations for their commitment to localism and public service."
The 10 Crystal Award winners were announced during the Radio Luncheon. The luncheon also featured speaker Bob Schieffer, anchor of Face the Nation for CBS News, as well as the induction of Scott Shannon, program director and air personality at WPLJ-FM, New York, into NAB's Broadcasting Hall of Fame. The luncheon was sponsored by ASCAP.

NAB2003 takes place April 5 - 10 in Las Vegas (exhibits open April 7). It is the world's largest electronic media show covering the development, delivery and management of professional video and audio content across all mediums.

The National Association of Broadcasters is a full-service trade association that promotes and protects free, over-the-air local radio and television stations' interests in Washington and around the world. NAB is the broadcaster's voice before Congress, federal agencies, and the courts. NAB also serves a growing number of associate and international broadcaster members.